About us

On 1 October 2022, the three former departments of Mathematics, Informatics, and Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) merged to become the TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology (CIT). This move brings together the concentrated research and teaching expertise of these three disciplines under a single roof.

Our Mission Statement

Computation, information and technology enable us to understand and shape the world, to communicate with each other and to gain knowledge from data.

Departments

Four departments structure the school scientifically into the areas, Mathematics, Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Electrical Engineering.

Organization

Clear management and administrative structures ensure optimal internal processes and support the scientific staff.

Our staff

These people work at the TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology. An overview.

Our Locations

The TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology has locations in Munich, Garching and Heilbronn.


News from School

School |

TUM Connect: Professor Luise Pufahl at the center of the science-practice encounter

Under the slogan "Discuss. Network. Co-create.", experts from the world of science met with company representatives at the TUM Connect event series on 23 November 2023 to discuss current issues and challenges.

School |

First Global Technology Forum at TUM Campus Heilbronn

The dynamic of Artificial Intelligence (AI) is present in academia, industry, and society at large. Academics can help make sense of where and how to apply AI while explaining its effects. To this end, TUM Campus Heilbronn invited its partners in the AI hub to the first TUM Campus Heilbronn Global Technology Forum.

Studies, School |

hackaTUM 2023: Marathon for creative minds

For the eighth time, highly motivated coders gathered at "hackaTUM" to work on exciting future-oriented projects with leading industry partners.

School, Awards |

High placements for TUM in prestigious rankings

In two of the most highly respected international subject rankings, the Technical University of Munich (TUM) again achieved outstanding positions. In the THE World University Rankings by Subject, which assesses broad subject groups, TUM is ranked among the world’s top 25 in three areas. In the Global Rankings of Academic Subjects (Shanghai…

Research, School, Awards |

ERC Synergy Grant for Prof. Julien Gagneur

The European Research Council (ERC) today awarded 37 particularly well-funded Synergy Grants across Europe. One of these interdisciplinary research awards went to Julien Gagneur, Professor of Computational Molecular Medicine, together with researchers from the VIB-KU Leuven Center for Microbiology (Belgium) and the Karolinska Institute (Sweden). In…

Über uns

Zum 1. Oktober 2022 verschmelzen die drei bisherigen Fakultäten für Mathematik, Informatik sowie Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik der Technischen Universität München (TUM) in der TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology (CIT). Damit befindet sich die geballte Forschungs- und Lehrkompetenz dieser drei Disziplinen und darüber hinaus unter einem Dach.

Unser Leitbild

Computation, Information und Technology versetzen uns in die Lage, die Welt zu verstehen und zu gestalten, miteinander in Kommunikation zu treten und aus Daten Wissen zu gewinnen.

Departments

Vier Departments strukturieren die School wissenschaftlich in die Bereiche, Mathematics, Computer Science, Computer Engineering und Electrical Engineering.

Organisation

Klare Management- und Verwaltungsstrukturen sorgen für optimale interne Abläufe und unterstützen das wissenschaftliche Personal.

Unsere Mitarbeitenden

Diese Menschen arbeiten an der TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology. Ein Überblick.

Unsere Standorte

Die TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology hat Standorte in München, Garching und Heilbronn.


Neues zur School

School |

TUM Connect: Professorin Luise Pufahl im Zentrum der Wissenschaft-Praxis Begegnung

Unter dem Motto „Diskutieren. Vernetzen. Mitgestalten." trafen sich bei der Veranstaltungsreihe TUM Connect am 23. November 2023 Expert:innen aus der Wissenschaft mit Unternehmensvertreter:innen, um sich über aktuelle Fragestellungen und Herausforderungen auszutauschen.

School |

Erstes Global Technology Forum am TUM Campus Heilbronn

Die Dynamik künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) ist in der Wissenschaft, in der Industrie und in der Gesellschaft insgesamt präsent. Wissenschaftler:innen können helfen, KI sinnvoll einzusetzen und ihre Auswirkungen zu erklären. Zu diesem Zweck lud der TUM Campus Heilbronn seine Partner im KI-Hub zum ersten TUM Campus Heilbronn Global Technology Forum…

Forschung, Auszeichnungen |

VDE Bayern Awards für ehemalige CIT Doktoranden

Zwei ehemalige Doktoranden der TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology haben den VDE Bayern Award erhalten. Mit dem Preis will der VDE Bayern auf herausragende technische und wissenschaftliche Leistungen aufmerksam machen. In der Kategorie Wissenschaft überzeugten Andreas Noll und Jonas Kornprobst.

Studium, School |

hackaTUM 2023: Marathon für kreative Köpfe

Zum achten Mal trafen sich hoch motivierte Coder beim „hackaTUM“, um mit führenden Industriepartnern an spannenden zukunftsweisenden Projekten zu tüfteln.

School, Auszeichnungen |

Spitzenplätze in Fächerrankings

In zwei der international renommiertesten Fächerrankings steht die TUM erneut auf herausragenden Plätzen. In den „THE World University Rankings by Subject“, die breite Fächergruppen beurteilen, gehört die TUM dreimal zu den besten 25 Universitäten weltweit. Die „Global Rankings of Academic Subjects“ der „Shanghai Rankings“, die einzelne Fächer…